Vegan Girl Scout Cookies

20 Comments
Share

I’ve been hit up a few times in recent weeks for Girl Scout Cookie orders, which got me to thinking: are any of the cookies vegan? According to this site, which provides scans of the nutritional information from each type of cookie, only the Iced Berry Pinatas and Reduced Fat Lemon Pastry Cremes do not contain eggs or dairy.

Bummer, my two favorites contain milk (Tagalongs and Thin Mints). Oh well… may have to make my own.

I also came across this, too, which is worth reading—including the comments—for fans of Thin Mints. The blog it’s from, 101cookbooks.com looks like a worthwhile visit, too, since much (all?) of the material covered is vegetarian. Heidi has a new cookbook out titled Cook 1.0, which looks beautiful.

20 Responses to “Vegan Girl Scout Cookies”

  1. Desiree

    I don’t know… the “natural and artificial flavor” in the Reduced Fat Lemon Pastry Cremes is suspicious. I can’t even find the Iced Berry cookies on the site. =(

  2. Seth

    Just got the Reduced Fat Cartwheels, and they have no egg or dairy.

  3. Chelsea

    I have a dirty secret.

    My roommate works for the girl scouts, and she brought home tagalongs (my favorite as well) and said, “Now i know that whey is mik or something but it’s the very last thing on the 2% or less list on your favorite cookies and i got them just for you and you’re always so good about it but i just thought maybe you’d like to have one anyway and…”

    and i ate them. And now i feel bad.

  4. Denise

    I have a box of the “Thanks-A-Lot” and I can’t find where there is dairy/eggs in it either. On the girlscout website, it lists wheat/soy as the allergens, but not eggs or dairy for this cookie. Can someone look behind me and double check??

  5. Vegan Sommelier

    Denise, I think the “Thanks-A-Lot” cookies are new this year (which is why they weren’t mentioned in the original post)… I checked the ingredients, and they appear to indeed be vegan.

  6. Joanna

    Since this page pops up when you search “vegan girl scout cookies” i think i will add for others that this year it looks like the following cookies are vegan:
    1) thanks-a-lot
    2) peanut butter patties
    3) cartwheels

    That is just based on the ingredients at the girl scout website. I am still new to the vegan thing, so if i’ve made a mistake please correct me thanks!

  7. jessie

    … I just ran across the Peanut Butter Patties and Thanks-a-lot boxes, which say “wheat and soy” as allergens. But… they are all loaded with hydrogenated oils anyway.

  8. Desiree

    Looks like the Peanut Butter Patties have whey (not vegan) and the Thanks-a-lot (as well as probably every other cookie available) have artificial flavors, which (per the USDA’s website) can be animal derived. I can’t even find the Cartwheels on the site.

    Why not just forgo the high fructose corn syrup and artificial flavors and colors, and get something more natural? There are plenty of vegan-oriented companies to support.

  9. vegan oh yea

    Yea, screw the girl scouts!

  10. Gary

    Vegan girl scout cookies would be great for at least the following reasons:

    a) They sell so many of them
    b) It may help mainstream veganism
    c) It may provide a convenient reference point when doing advocacy (“Girl scout Cartwheel cookies are vegan.” “Really? I love them. Maybe veganism’s not so hard.”)

    For the past several years, when I see a girl scout cookie booth set up outside a store or something, I walk over and ask if they have any vegan varieties, which often leads to a productive discussion. I always say that I’ll buy some if they’re vegan, so this being possibly the year of vegan cheese and girl scout cookies (but not together), I may have to make good on my promise.

    The best “girl scout cookie activism” episode for me: A bunch of us were coming out of an activism meeting. I spied a girl scout cookie table, and did my usual bit. A fellow activist had baked some awesome vegan chocolate chip cookies and offered some to the girl scouts and their mothers. They all loved them and promised they would suggest vegan varieties to “the committee.”

  11. Christina

    I think that all girl scout cookies are contaminated with non-vegan ingredients, because they are all processed on the same machines, so watch out strict vegans!

  12. Kristen

    This year, 2009, I’m fairly certain that the vegan options are:
    Thanks-A-Lot
    Lemonades
    Daisy Go Rounds

    The only thing I’m skeptical about are the peanut butter patties aka Tag-A-Longs. My co-worker has a box here citing Whey as an ingredient. When I looked up the individual bakery companies that produce the cookies, one listed Tag-a-longs (with milk) and another listed “Peanut butter patties” that did not have any dairy or eggs in the ingredient list. I don’t know if they sell them separately like it appears. Perhaps depending on location.

    Also, Christina is right…check the labels if you are concerned about them being produced in the same vicinity. Of course…strict vegan or not, who are you fighting this time, the FDA and dairy industry, or the sweet little girl scouts who can’t control where your cookies are processed?

  13. reese

    who cares if they’re vegan or not when they are using high fructose corn syrup and hydrogenated oils

  14. paula

    there are two different girl scout bakeries.

    the ones called ‘tagalongs’ are from little brownie bakers and are NOT vegan (whey is the last ingredient).

    the ones called ‘peanut butter patties’ are the exact same cookie, except made by abc bakers and they ARE vegan.

    thanks-a-lot, daisy-go-rounds, and lemonades are also vegan, but only made by abc bakers.

    some girl scout troops get their cookies from one bakery, other girl scout troops from the other bakery — so you have to check who the supplier is!

  15. sarah

    Paula, rock on with the info. My parents have pounds of the cookies in their house and with no treats for me, this rocks!

  16. fORREST

    Everyone is going on about eggs and dairy but what about the sugar, does it have bone char? What about salt that may use an animal by-product to keep it from caking. Call the headquaters and ask if they are vegan and make sure you tell them that you have allergies to animal by-products to get a staight answer.

  17. Jenni

    No one else has mentioned this but in my area (Rochester, NY) the Thin Mints are vegan. Anyone else find vegan Thin Mints?

  18. Vegan Vampire

    This site is great about showing what allergens (such as animal and dairy) are in food:

    http://www.foodfacts.com

    You just type in the food and it gives you the health score, allergens, and ingredients. My favorite part is when you swipe your cursor over the allergen logos, it will highlight which ingredients contain those allergens. One of the most interesting foods I found is how sodas like Pepsi Max contain animal allergens and Coke contains dairy allergens.

  19. Jesse

    I wish there was a true vegan girl scout cookie. My niece sells them for her troop and I want to be able to eat what I buy from her haha! It’s sad though because all of the ingredients I’ve read are vegan in essence, but they all contain high fructose corn syrup and tons of weird oils and processed stuff. Maybe us vegans should get together and kindly write them asking for some vegan cookies. Implant the idea that they’d make more sales to a new market audience. Even if they cost a few dollars more, I’d be glad to spend it on cookies and help out an awesome organization at the same time.

  20. Amy

    The cookies from ABC bakers are different than those from Little Brownie. If the cookies are sold with names like Samoas and Tagalong, the cookies are NOT vegan. If they are sold under the names caramel delites and peanut butter patties, then there are four vegan varieties: thin mint, thanks a lot, lemonades and peanut butter patties. ENJOY :)

Leave a Reply